Databases

Page history last edited by Mike 2 mos ago

Databases

 

 

Databases are not web resources. Instead, they give access to thousands of articles that have been vetted by professional fact-checkers and editors, and are thus much more reliable than just about anything you'll find through a Google search. We highly recommend articles found on the following databases for research.

 

The Canadian Encyclopedia has long long been the trusted name in Canadian history research. Some time ago, however, the publishers stopped making the print edition, choosing instead to focus on their online edition. The result is a top-notch, up-to-date resource for all things Canadian.

 

EBSCO is an online database that we subscribe to here at Shaftesbury that provides access to thousands of periodicals online. Unsure how to use it? Check out the EBSCO tutorial in the Library Resource Tutorials page.

 

Shaftesbury has an eBook collection that's growing every day.  Lots of resources to be found here! 

 

 

Stats Canada has an online learning tool named E-STAT that is specially designed for use by the educational community. With E-STAT you can generate dynamic tables, customize graphs and maps using Statistics Canada's Census of Population and socioeconomic data.

 

Opposing Viewpoints holds a fantastic collection of essays on a staggering number of topics. The database is based on the highly recommended book series, which collects essays on opposing sides on a wide variety of controvesial topics. For the password, please contact Mr Friesen.

 

Science Resource Centre collects great information, essays, and articles from a vast array of science topics. If you're looking for reliable science articles, this is the place to find them. For the password, please contact Mr Friesen.

  

World Book Online is the online version of the encyclopedia. The information found here is very in-depth. World Book online is often a great place to start any search.

 

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.